From information database, the free resource
Jump to navigation Jump to search
For other uses, see Jakarta (disambiguation).

Capital of Indonesia
Special Capital Region in Indonesia

Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta
Special Capital Region
Special Capital Region of Jakarta
Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta
From top, left to right: Jakarta Old Town, Hotel Indonesia Roundabout, Jakarta Skyline, Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Taman Mini Indonesia Indah, Monumen Nasional, Merdeka Palace, Istiqlal Mosque and Jakarta Cathedral


Coat of arms
The Big Durian,[1][2] J-Town[3]
Jaya Raya (Sanskrit)
(meaning: Victorious and Great)
Location in Java and Indonesia
Show map of Java
Jakarta (Indonesia)
Show map of Indonesia
Coordinates: 6°12′S 106°49′E / 6.200°S 106.817°E / -6.200; 106.817Coordinates: 6°12′S 106°49′E / 6.200°S 106.817°E / -6.200; 106.817
Country Indonesia
Settled22 June 1527[4]
City status4 March 1621[4]
Province status28 August 1961[4]
 • TypeSpecial administrative area
 • GovernorAnies Baswedan
 • Deputy GovernorVacant
 • LegislativeJakarta Regional People's Representative Council
 • Special Capital Region661.5 km2 (255.4 sq mi)
 • Metro
6,392 km2 (2,468 sq mi)
Area rank34th
8 m (26 ft)
 • Special Capital Region10,075,310
 • Rank6th
 • Density14,464/km2 (37,460/sq mi)
 • Metro
(2015 estimate)[6]
 • Metro density4,958/km2 (12,840/sq mi)
DemonymsJakartan (Indonesian: warga Jakarta, orang Jakarta)
Time zoneUTC+07:00 (Indonesia Western Time)
Postal Code
Area code(+62) 21
Vehicle registrationB
HDI 0.804 (Very High)
HDI rank1st (2018)
GDP PPP (2016)$483.4 billion[7]
PolicePolda Metro Jaya

Jakarta (/əˈkɑːrtə/; Indonesian pronunciation: [dʒaˈkarta]), officially the Special Capital Region of Jakarta (Indonesian: Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta, literally Jakarta Capital Special Region), is the capital and largest city of Indonesia. Situated on the northwest coast of the world's most populous island of Java, it is the centre of economy, culture and politics of Indonesia with a population of more than ten million as of 2014[update].[5][8] The Jakarta metropolitan area, which has an area of 6,392 square kilometres, is the world's second most populous urban area after Tokyo, with a population of about 30 million as of 2010[update].[9] Jakarta's business opportunities, as well as its potential to offer a higher standard of living, have attracted migrants from across the Indonesian archipelago, making it a melting pot of numerous cultures.[10] Jakarta is nicknamed the "Big Durian", the thorny strongly-odored fruit native to the region,[1] as the city is seen as the Indonesian equivalent of New York (Big Apple).[11]

Established in the fourth century as Sunda Kelapa, the city became an important trading port for the Sunda Kingdom. It was the de facto capital of the Dutch East Indies when it was known as Batavia. Jakarta is officially a province with special capital region status, though it is commonly referred to as a city. Its provincial government consists of five administrative cities and one administrative regency. Jakarta is an alpha world city[12] and is the seat of the ASEAN secretariat,[13] making it an important city for international diplomacy.[14] Financial institutions such as the Bank of Indonesia, Indonesia Stock Exchange, and corporate headquarters of numerous Indonesian companies and multinational corporations are located in the city. Jakarta has grown more rapidly than Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok and Beijing.[15] In 2017, the city's GRP PPP was estimated at US$483.4 billion.[16][17]

Jakarta's prime challenges include rapid urban growth, ecological breakdown, gridlocked traffic, congestion, and flooding.[18] Additionally, Jakarta is sinking up to 17 cm (6.7 inches) per year, which, coupled with the rising of sea levels, has made the city more prone to flooding. It is also one of the fastest-sinking capitals in the world.[19] In August 2019, President Joko Widodo announced a move of the capital to the province of East Kalimantan on the island of Borneo.[20]